Tag Archives: Classics

Master of the Mill by Cate Toward – a retelling of North and South

As part of the celebration of North and South I am contributing my review of Master of the Mill by Cate Toward.

Caty and I had a chat awhile back discussing her take on Thornton.

I started reading this story when it was first serialized and the way she wrote Thornton had me visualizing Armitage as Guy of Gisborne.
When it was published last January I was able to read it all the way through and appreciate her take on the story.

We find ourselves at the beginning of this story in Northern Milton. Margaret has lost her mother, Mr. Hale his wife and they are in dire straits due to the loss of Mrs. Hale’s annuity. Nevertheless Margaret is determined to supplement their income instead of relying on relatives.¬† Mr. Bell had suggested Milton but left for the West Indies upon their arrival.

 

This is the North and South that will shock Mrs. Gaskell

“what are you doin’ here?”

This story has the infamous incident of The Master beating a worker portrayed in the 2004 BBC adaptation written by screen writer Sandy Welch presumably to advance the plot and make the instant dislike of Margaret clear. And of course Margaret challenges him, dislikes him instantly but recognizes an odd sensation she can’t place …

He looked like the Angel Gabriel, dressed in black, tall, commanding, powerful, ready.” from Ch 1

 

This is the North and South where Mr. Thornton isn’t a virgin nor a monk!

We meet Thornton in a liaison with Lydia Slickson, the renamed Ann Latimer from the adaptation, written in for plot purposes. Our master has found a way to blow off his stress ūüôā

He looked critically at her evaluating the pleasure she offered against the time wasted away from his work.” Ch 2

 

This is the North and South where Margaret gets to work in the mill, … under cover ūüėČ

Margaret decides it isn’t below her to find quarters amongst the mill workers and she becomes rapidly friends with Bessie as neighbor and companion. It’s Bessie who suggests it could be done for her to work without the master taking notice.

To get one over on a master, tis a fine joke. Provided ‘e don’t take offence if all is discovered.” Ch 4

 

This is the North and South where there is a ball!

A ball!! Who doesn’t love a ball?

 

 

You dance well, sir” He laughed, raised an eyebrow and leaned in to her, whispering, “I have not stood upon your toes yet, I count that a small victory against nature.” Ch 9

 

 

This is the North and South where we have intrigue!

 

Because I don’t want to be any more spoilery you’ll have to read it but I thought it a clever even if familiar twist.

What makes this a fun read, is when the imagery of the adaptation comes in my mind. I certainly recognize some scenes and lines but sometimes the context is different.

Caty’s authentic use of the workers dialect gives the story weight. I only wished we had more back story in setting up Thornton differently as most of us know him or making Margaret’s circumstances slightly more believable.

I encourage you to follow Caty’s writing adventures on Wattpad , her current work in progress, While Christ and His Angels Slept, a Sparrow Sang.¬† Occasionally she tweets as well.

While Christ and His Angels Slept, a Sparrow Sang.

I hope one day she will publish Ricky Deeming’s story The Road

Advertisements

Global Armitage Watching or moRA is better!

North and South promo picture

So the North and South watch is behind us and I think we can call it a success thanks to excellent moderating skills of @ArmitageWatch no doubt we started a yearly tradition, hopefully if you missed it this year you can catch it next year or you can join us for future watching.

This whole idea came out of a conversation on twitter and since, this mantra occasionally pops into my cRAzy head:

IF  YOU  POST  IT  THEY  WILL  COME! 

a modified quote from¬†Field of Dreams¬†ūüôā

I hope you find the opportunity to join any of the coming RAwatches! Check out the Armitage Watch Calendar, look for a time that suits you and if uncertain how we go about: check this out. Note: take advantage of the Google feature to import each calendar into your personal one. For your convenience you can follow and LIKE our posts on Facebook

In case the word watch throws you off a bit I included the listed definition:

watch ———>>>

verb (used without object)

1. to be alertly on the lookout, look attentively, or observe, as to see what comes, is done, or happens: to watch while an experiment is performed.
2. to look or wait attentively and expectantly (usually followed by for ): to watch for a signal; to watch for an opportunity.
3. to be careful or cautious: Watch when you cross the street.
4. to keep awake, especially for a purpose; remain vigilant, asfor protection or safekeeping: to watch with a sick person.
5. to keep vigil, as for devotional purposes.
6. to keep guard: She was assigned to watch at the door.

LOOK WHO”S KNOCKING ON YOUR DOOR?

Fridays I’ll be looking forward to #GuyWatch : 2 episodes every friday starting on the hour.

Once Spooks has finished in the fall #GuyWatch will double up ; meaning 2 episodes each Friday AND Saturday!

Guy of Gisborne

Saturdays we have #LucasWatch : meaning Spooks from Season 7 down to the 9 : 2 episodes each Saturday.

Lucas North

But that is not all we plan to have more weekend events: if you check out the calendar they are already there:  #HarryWatch #MonetWatch and more!!

Please spReAd the news and join the FUN!


I have a dReAm…about a date with a cravat and a kiss

So you’ve seen a show on tv and talked to your friends about it.

You’ve seen a movie and couldn’t stop talking about it after.

Then you find yourself like a certain ActoR in a certain role and HAVE to find people who feel the same way about it.

Then you must catch up on the things he’s done in the past OR most likely you came upon him because of a role he’s done in the past.

So say hello to Mr. Thornton ….

you can keep your hat on..

note: I was tempted to post other pictures but why spoil it for those who haven’t seen it.

So I propose … One weekend in June: Friday 1st, Saturday 2nd, Sunday 3rd,

a global North and South watch.

This is overdue for US primetime since it’s only aired once on A&E EDIT: BBC America¬†regardless of the appeal to PBS, including a facebook campaign.

I think we’ve been deprived!

I’m aware MANY have found themselves involuntary watching (links contain spoilers)¬†¬†all four episodes back to back till the wee hours¬†or¬†after watching N&S the first time, went straight to the beginning and rewatched it. Than watched again the next day. Then the next.

A couple of rules might help everyone along the way. We are pretending the show is starting on the dot; so set your clocks. It will be impossible to count down or for everyone to be exactly at the same spot.

I thought about this a lot, I wish I could have talked it over a lot more since we’re dealing with four episodes.

For that reason I’m suggesting the watch at the specific times, those who choose to view all 4 in one go could, those who choose to do 2 per night can as well.

So to keep at least this post simple I”m posting the US prime times:

(my plan is to post a multiple timegrids for Europe, UK, US for instance I’ve done a Persuasion watch with Europe in the afternoon when it was evening there)

US Prime time:

Friday June 1st

EDT:  8pm : ep 1          PDT: 6pm: ep 1

EDT:  9pm:  ep 2          PDT: 7pm: ep 2

EDT: 10pm : ep 3        PDT: 8pm: ep 3

EDT: 11pm : ep 4         PDT: 9pm: ep 4

Saturday June 2nd

EDT: 6pm: ep 1           PDT: 4pm: ep 1

EDT: 7pm: ep 2          PDT: 5pm: ep 2

EDT: 8pm: ep 3          PDT: 6pm: ep 3

EDT: 9pm: ep4           PDT: 7pm: ep 4

EDIT: 

AUSTRALIA Prime Time:

Saturday June 2nd

EST: 8pm :  ep 1           US EDT: 6am : ep 1       UK BST : 11 am : ep 1

EST: 9pm :  ep 2           US EDT: 7am : ep 2      UK BST : 12 pm : ep 2

EST: 10pm: ep 3           US EDT: 8am : ep 3      UK BST :  1 pm :  ep 3

EST: 11pm:  ep 4           US EDT: 9am : ep 4      UK BST :  2 pm : ep 4

Sunday June 3rd

EST: 6pm : ep 1           US EDT: 4am : ep 1       UK BST : 9am : ep 1

EST: 7pm : ep 2           US EDT: 5am : ep 2       UK BST :10am: ep 2

EST: 8pm : ep 3           US EDT: 6am : ep 3       UK BST: 11am: ep 3

EST: 9pm : ep 4           US EDT: 7am: ep 4         UK BST: 12pm:ep 4

For the UK ¬†and Europe I’m suggesting Sat and Sun eve so friends (from the US) who want to connect and share the experience with them could view in the afternoon. I’m working on my sisters to get together ūüôā

A dedicated blog and twitter account has been established: 

EDIT : the Facebook page went LIVE

This is my peddle in the ocean, be on the look out for the ripples in the pond ūüôā

Meanwhile SAVE the date!